Route 23 onto Route 1 -TransCanada Highway to Wood Islands Ferry
Corner Historic Village
Location: Rte. 18A off Rte. 1
at Orwell Corner
At the heart of Prince Edward Island is its agricultural heritage.
The special magic of Orwell Corner allows visitors to experience
the mood, flavor, charm and activities of a small agricultural
crossroads community of the 1890s. While at Orwell Corner you
can visit the blacksmith's shop, general store, house and barns,
stroll through the gardens or have a picnic outside the old
schoolhouse. Orwell Corner is well known for its Wednesday night
ceilidhs in the community hall and hosts many exciting special
events throughout the season.
Andrew MacPhail Park
National Historic Site
Location: Off Rte. 1 at Orwell
Sir Andrew MacPhail, a distinguished Island doctor, writer
and citizen, donated this historical homestead, where he was
born. A true renaissance man, he is even credited with establishing
P.E.I.'s seed potato industry. This restored 1850’s
12-room gabled house combines history and nature in perfect
harmony. It functions as a museum and also houses a tearoom
and restaurant. It offers gardens, ecological forestry project,
native tree and shrub nursery, 3 nature walking trails, bird
watching and an adjacent nature center on the homestead's
The Orwell Church was built in 1861 by the Scottish Presbyterians
of the community. Until its construction people in the district
attended St John's Presbyterian Church in nearby Belfast. Services
as late as 1900 were conducted in English and in the Gaelic
language. There was some controversy in the community when the
building was extended in 1891 to accommodate a new platform
and a pump organ. The traditional services had been conducted
without musical accompaniment with members following the lead
of the presenter in singing the psalms from the Bible. Some
felt the organ would serve only to distract the congregation
from the words of the psalms. In the 1920's the church became
part of the United Church of Canada and was used until 1970
when churches in the area were consolidated and a new building
erected at Vernon Bridge. The adjacent cemetery dates back to
1884 and is still used by members of the Orwell congregation.
Location: Rte.1 between Eldon
Settlers arrived with Thomas Douglas, fifth Earl of Selkirk,
in 1803 aboard the ships Polly, Dykes and Oughton. Some 800
settlers anchored in Orwell Bay just off the present day location
of Lord Selkirk Park. Together with earlier immigrants, the
Selkirk settlers established an enduring Scottish tradition
on PEI. The Park offers modern day convenience with the era
of the Islands past.
Selkirk Provincial Park
Location: Eldon, Rte. 1
Lord Selkirk Park is one of the most historical island parks
with a very Celtic essence due to the landing of the Scottish
settlers to this area. The park offers a picturesque 9-hole
golf course, Belfast Highland Greens, which sits on the cliffs
bluff. You will also find two swimming pools, miniature golf,
camping, an old church and Scottish burial grounds. A series
of Friday night variety concerts feature traditional music by
local artists and entertainers. Lord Selkirk also hosts the
annual Highland Games where you will experience activities such
as highland dance competitions, bagpipe, fiddle music, sporting
events such as caber toss, shot putt and log toss.
Mini Mills Ltd.
Location: Rte. 207
Belfast Mini-Mills operates as a demonstration and teaching
facility while commercially processing fine fleeces and offering
custom services. The mill's most unusual product is quivit —
a luxurious fiber from the arctic Musk-ox. Belfast Mini-Mills
is involved in a joint project with the native people of Nunavut
in the Canadian arctic, who harvest Musk-ox for food and send
the hides to P.E.I. for processing. Musk-ox have long, coarse
outer hair, but this hair covers a soft undercoat that is incredibly
fine — so fine, in fact, that individual fibers are almost
invisible, and specially-designed machinery is needed to spin
it. The resulting fabrics are incredibly soft and warm. There
is a store at the mill where yarns and beautifully woven fabrics
are sold, and informal tours of the facility are offered. There
are even llamas, goats, and other animals to enjoy.
Location: Rte. 207
International Spinners Ltd. manufactures equipment for processing
fleece and spinning yarns, about 20 different machines in all.
The machinery is specifically designed for exotic fibers like
alpaca, llama, and mohair, and it is shipped all over the world.
Sutherland's milling machinery is scaled for "cottage industry,"
but it is technologically advanced and fascinating to see.
Location: Pinette off Trans Canada
Pinette is a day use park, which is east of Belfast. The park
has picnic facilities, flush toilets, playground equipment,
fishing, and a riverside beach. Pets are permitted on a leash.
Location: Eldon,Pinette Rd. Rt.
The Pinette Studio offers paintings and prints of featured Island
landscapes as well as the wildlife and surreal landscapes.
Location: Bell River Rte. 1
The building was originally built in the 1900 and used as a
dairy. It was not used as a church until 1926. Windows and pews
were resourced from other churches.
John's Presbyterian Church
Location: Off Rte. 1, in Lord
This is one of the most picturesque and historic churches on
P.E.I. Built in 1824 by Scottish settlers who immigrated to
Canada because of the Highland Clearances in Scotland. Stately
trees frame the church, and a pioneer cemetery adjoins it. The
church is always open for visitors to see its lovely wooden
interior, with a parquet ceiling and five small stained glass
windows over the altar.
Location: Rte. 208
PEI’s oldest church, built in 1826 by Selkirk settlers.
It is built out of handmade wooden shingles and consists of
a four-stage tower, a slender spire, church bell and a beautiful
Location: Rte. 1
Years ago there was quite a scandal concerning the nude statue
in the front yard of this studio and crafts gallery. There were
articles and letters in the newspaper, and some Islanders traveled
miles to see it! Now the statue doesn't attract much attention.
However the gallery is still worth traveling miles to visit.
Roslynn and Robert Wilby, a brother and sister team; create
fine pottery, jewelry, and batik. Sculpture and paintings are
on display as well.
Vista Summer Savory Farm
Location: Re. 1, Belle River
At Ryan's Farm, they grow, process and package all their summer
savory, which, is pesticide free. We think it is the best summer
savory you can obtain.