Islands Rte. 4 to Murray Harbour to Murray River via Rte. 18
Location: Wood Island Ferry Terminal
This lighthouse was built in 1876 and is situated on the cliff
at the mouth of the Wood Island Ferry Terminal in eastern PEI.
In 1941, a foghorn was requested to help the ferry when it was
docking. In 1958, the dwelling and light tower were electrified
and the light itself operated on a 1000 watt airway beacon lamp
and had changed from a fixed light to a flashing light. This
lighthouse has the unique distinction of being the last lighthouse
on PEI where the lightkeeper and his family lived right in the
lighthouse. The original lightkeepers quarters are still an
integral part of the structure today. Come and relive the lifestyles
of lightkeeper’s through photos, displays and documentation.
Take a peek inside the lightkeeper's quarters, stroll through
the rum-running room. Over 200 artifacts uniquely displayed
in themed settings. Climb the stairs and see a breathtaking
view of the red, rich soil and the miles of the picturesque
Location: Near Beach Point, Rte.
Built in 1881, this square, three-story lighthouse is still
operational and also used as a museum. Local lore says that
in the early morning hours of April 15, 1912, operator Thomas
Barlett received the S.O.S. distress call from the Titanic as
she sank 153 km south of the Grand Banks of Newfoundland. Journey
into the past as you visit the Museum to hear Bartlett's recollections
of that fateful morning and see the artifacts of this piece
of history. Climb to the top to the light and enjoy our red
sandstone cliffs and secluded beaches that overlook the shimmering
waters of the Northumberland Strait.